Disney Announces ‘Collected Works of Hayao Miyazaki’ Blu-ray Box Set


By: Haylee Fisher (@haylee_fisher)

Hayao Miyazaki is perhaps the most influential anime filmmaker ever with a career spanning more than forty years. Though he announced his retirement a few years ago, he recently said he would direct his first computer-animated short film. The man doesn’t quit! And what better way to celebrate this prolific artist than with the release of a Blu-ray box set of all 11 of the films he has yet directed?

According to Nerdist, the collection will be comprised of The Castle of Cagliostro, Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind, Castle in the Sky, My Neighbor Totoro, Kiki’s Delivery Service, Porco Rosso, Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away, Howl’s Moving Castle, Ponyo, and The Wind Rises.

The bonus features are also noteworthy, including Yuki no Taiyo (Yuki’s Sun), a 1972 television pilot based on a manga by Tetsuya Chiba that was directed, storyboarded, and animated by Miyazaki. There are also three episodes of the anime series Akado Suzunosuk (Little Samurai), which were also storyboarded by him. Other bonus features for fans to enjoy include a full version of Miyazaki’s retirement press conference and a book called The Great Dichotomy: Looking At The Works Of Hayao Miyazaki which “explores the themes and techniques of this revered Japanese filmmaker, and selected text from Hayao Miyazaki’s initial notes and creative proposals for the production of each film.”

The price of the set has not been revealed, but it will be for sale exclusively on Amazon on November 17.

    No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Sorry. No data so far.



Read More